New Problem

16 years 1 month ago #14536 by Gordo
Replied by Gordo on topic New Problem
Tommy, I too had an elevated PSA. It was at the beginning of my second round of BCG treatments, and my Uro also wanted to undertake an immediate prostrate biopsy. I refused, suggesting the test be delayed for several mos., while continuing a regime of PSA testing and monitoring. My decision is based on the articles I've found. However, I'm no expert in this field, and the Uro nurse was quite smug about it being my decision not to undergo this (pAiNfUlL)procedure right away. I gotta ask myself if there's something the Uro wasn't telling me based on the TURBT I had Sept '07. Who knows?

However, I appear to have similar symptoms/issues that you have described Tommy. I think my problem is related to granulomatous prostatitis from the BCG treatments. I had no prostrate symptoms before my TURBT. Anyway, it was my choice to postpone based on what "LITTLE" I know, and given that the Uro does not want to do any other tests (even though I've only had 3 PSA tests in the last 8 mos., 7+, 2+, and the last was 6+. I've also not been offered a DRE, which I suspect would yield hardened, or enlarged prostrate due to granulomatous prostatitis. But I'm only 53, so several more mos. wait for the prostrate biopsy is good enough for me.

Check out the following couple of websites on this issue:

1) "Prostate Cancer / What's New"
www.cornellurology.com/prostate/new/
(2nd paragraph under the heading "Evaluation/detection")"Treatment with intravesical BCG for transitional cell carcinoma will typically result in a 2-fold increase in PSA, as seen in a recent study for 75% of patients. The effect on PSA is self-limited and will resolve within 3 months."

2)"Granulomatous prostatitis on needle biopsy"
findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_qa3725/is_199707/ai_n8772067/pg_5