Another quick question re my father

4 years 11 months ago #57401 by RJake1
Replied by RJake1 on topic Another quick question re my father
This is very similar to my own recent diagnosis. Your radiologist found it to be HG non-invasive. I would expect BCG to be next course of treatment.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Neelloo2626

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

4 years 11 months ago #57387 by Alan
Replied by Alan on topic Another quick question re my father
Just seconding Sara Anne's response. Just clarify what the doctor is saying and it appears he is saying it is non invasive. The doc's comments actually seem to me is "barking up the right tree" and BCG probably is the answer. I am not an insurance expert but, I'd be very surprised if Stanford doesn't take Medicare. The problem sometimes arise with the supplement. Usually the institutions insurance department can cover this one quickly. I had the same situation with MD Anderson in Houston which I have as a backup and thankfully I didn't have to go plus they took most supplements including mine. Their problem came up with Medicare Advantage supplements just for reference. The option if it is Medicare and not the supplement, would they take the 20% difference that a supplement normally covers to keep the cost down?

DX 5/6/2008 TAG3 papillary tumor .5 CM in size. 2 TURBS followed by 6 instillations of BCG weekly with a second round of 6 after a 6 week wait.

4 years 11 months ago #57385 by sara.anne
Replied by sara.anne on topic Another quick question re my father
I don’t think you should make any decision until you speak with the doctor on Monday. You should ask him about his certainty about the diagnosis and his plans going forward. I wouldn’t say that he is necessarily being nonchalant.