New side effects with 2nd round of BCG Treatments

5 years 4 months ago #56304 by Alan
Jack,

I always look forward to your posts. You say so much better what I want to say! Thanks,

DX 5/6/2008 TAG3 papillary tumor .5 CM in size. 2 TURBS followed by 6 instillations of BCG weekly with a second round of 6 after a 6 week wait.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Jack R

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

5 years 4 months ago #56302 by Jack R
Stevemac,

Welcome to the forum.

BCG hits everyone differently. Some sail through with now bother. I'm on the opposite end of the spectrum; like you the side effects hit me hard. Reducing the dose offers little relief for me, others find great relief.

I have been chasing CIS for 3 years and 3 months (who's counting). BCG knocks it down, I get a clean scope or TURBT or two, then it's back. I'm up to 24 BCG plus maintenance, with various add-ins and intravesical chemo. The CIS has not progressed but just doesn't seem to want to leave.

I'm not a good candidate for a RC due to prior injuries, so the battle with the CIS continues.By all opinions, BCG is the #1 choice for CIS. Various authors have expressed the opinion that it may take more than one round of induction of BCG, and that maintenance is critical for resistant CIS. You may well be on your way to good outcome.

My heavy reaction to BCG started with the 4th dose and just get stronger as time goes on. Heavy drugs make the BCG treatments possible for me. I have a spinal cord injury, I'm missing a kidney and have lots of miles on this body. The spasms set me off. I lose 3 to 5 days, and just qualify for the following week's dose, but only if the bleeding has stopped. All this to say, Yes, BCG can be a real problem for some of us, but I'll keep doing it until something works. The gain will be worth the pain.