New Indiana Pouch - defective valve

5 years 2 weeks ago #57041 by Cynthia
Replied by Cynthia on topic New Indiana Pouch - defective valve
Ford, sorry you are having problems. I have an Indiana myself it was born in 2006. I had the opposite problem from yours mine was so tight there were times I couldn’t get the catheter in. I had to have a surgery and they did a procedure loosening it. Leaving me with an Indiana that will leak if too full or if I have pouchitus. Over time I have learnt to deal. Before we go any further what ever I say here talk to your medical team about, after all I am not a doctor I’m just a crazy lady on the internet. Since you did not tell me if you had tried anything to alleviate your leaking I will tell you what I do if I am leaking like a sieve.

If I start leaking it is usually from pouchitus. That is a catch all phrase that means your pouch is irritated for some reason. This is just an opinion and I know of no other source but my own observation. Anything that would upset my intestinal track can upset my pouch. Mucus build up can also be a reason. There are other times but rare when I can find no reason. Most often it is probably a number of things so if I have a problem I go back to the basics.

One of the things you can do for your pouch when it is irritated is to irrigate it. While the cathatur is inserted you insert the tip of an irrigation syringe into the funnel end and inject about 50cc’s of normal saline and let it drain out or have you doctor teach you how to draw back on the syringe to pull it back out. I do this once a day while the pouch is upset and once a week otherwise. If this is something your doctor wants you to do they will need to give you a persiription for disposable syringes and the saline solution.